Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The basic claim of the author asserts the implementation of free university education to any student who is not financially capable to do so. The claim seems logical at a first glance, supported by the fact that education is a primary and prerequisite condition towards development and progress of any individual and consequently of the world as a whole. Financing university education has been a substantial impediment to the individuals who belong to a middle class family or diffident to take the risk of heavy loans. Under such a scenario it is only sagacious for the governments to offer an option of free education, at least to the ones that are indeed ingenious but just couldn't embellish due to the paucity of financial resources.

However, scrutinizing the assumption and evaluating the potential consequences resulting due to such implementations, it can be observed that making university education free could result into overall deterioration of the quality of education. University education requires enormous resources which can be fulfilled by the astronomical amounts of money charged to the students. This problem can be solved if the government agrees to pay for the students through a program specifically designed for the financially weaker students. Such programs do not necessarily stipulate the governments to make the university education free; rather introducing more accessible forms of scholarships and education loans can serve the purpose. Thus, it is not necessary to make the education free.

Further, the ramifications of providing free university education could be detrimental to the university as a whole if the student's financial incapability is incredible. For example, a student admitted to a university may be wealthy, but somehow manages to express his financial incapability to the university, thereby fraudulently enjoying the government resources. Also, the means to prove oneself to be financially incapable need not necessarily be illegal; one might even legally prove it. Hence, if such a policy is to be introduced then the rules and regulations regarding a person's financial status should be stringent and clear.

In addition to these consequences, making the education free for a particular individual, while the rest of the people being imposed of a heavy burden may lead to the existence of discrimination among the institution. There might be cases of riots or fights among the students of an institution if such a policy is introduced.

Nevertheless, the claim of the author is not entirely refutable. Education is the right of every individual and it would not be entirely unjust to make it free; but university education is something that cannot be served for free to everyone. If the government, in future, decides to implement such a policy than it must be ready to mitigate the pejorative ramifications such as discrimination, fraud and injustice.