Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Distance learning and online computer classes should replace classroom learning.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Over the years the education system has undergone through a plethora of changes. With advancement in technology and availability of smartphones and computers, distance learning has emerged which enables the student to engage in a classroom without physical presence. Although distance learning has great advantages such as flexible time, repetition, freedom from books, etc. I believe that it has no right to replace the traditional classroom learning methods. In my opinion, the classroom learning method is still more preferable than Distance learning or online classes due to following reasons:

First, classroom learning provides the opportunity for the students to interact with the faculty as well as the other students which is not possible in distance learning. Many professors and teachers have the tendency to develop an idea and explain them through classroom discussions. It is often a very effective method to make a student understand a particular phenomenon since the student is directly involved in the discussion. For instance, when I was in my final year of engineering, one of my professors asked me to demonstrate the parts of an IC engine. Although, I wasn't aware of the entire topic, I was able to get a profound understanding only because I was directly involved. Such type of learning can never be achieved through distance or online classes.

Second, there is a lesser control on the student, if he/she undergoes distance learning or online computer classes. The faculty as well as the authority are not able to advise or reprimand a student as effectively as they would in a classroom learning method. If, for instance, a student is not performing up to his potential, the faculty members could advise or guide him/her in order to bring his/her academic performance back on track. As a result , the student will be able to get better development in a classroom environment rather than in distance learning.

Finally, there are certain courses that require practical or experimental works which require essential resources that are only available at the university or the college. In fact, most of the courses require practical work whether it is engineering, law, arts or biology. As a result, a student undergoing distance learning will not be able to develop practically and hence will receive a substandard level of education.This could also affect significantly on the job opportunities and future career of an individual.

Therefore, to recapitulate the viewpoint, classroom learning should not be replaced by Distance learning and online computer classes because they lack vital factors such as classroom interaction, student control and practical education.