"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by the author is basically concerned with the changes adopted by a news channel by reducing the time for weather news and devoting the consequent additional time to the national news. The author here proposes that the structure of news program is restored back to what it was. The claim of the author seems sagacious at a first glance, bolstered by the fact that the declining of the advertising contracts and generation of complaints from customers aroused after the changes in the news program structure were implemented. However, careful scrutiny reveals that the author would require substantial evidence and facts in order to make his argument sufficiently compelling.

Firstly, the author tries to connect a direct link between the changes in a news program and the complaints registered by a specific number of customers. By evaluating comprehensively, it is evident that the customers are not satisfied by the content of the news related to weather and local whereabouts. On the other hand, it is conspicuous that the changes in the news program were configured only for the late night program. The number of people attending a late night news program are merely a few, which insinuates that the change in the late night program is clearly not the only reason behind the customer dissatisfaction. Maybe, the news channel isn't able to deliver enough content about the local whereabouts and/or weather to satiate the needs of a particular customer. In order to make his argument more plausible, the author needs to provide concrete evidence which would suggest that the complaints have been aroused specifically due to the changes in the late night news program.

Additionally, the author mentions the cancellation of the local advertising contracts during the late night news program; suggesting that decrease in the time allotted to the local news has affected detrimentally to the dissemination of local business information. Although, the news channel has increased the time allotted to the national news which could consequently be beneficial to the local businesses because a larger group of people would be interested in national news in comparison to a local news. The reason behind the declination of the local advertising contracts could be as innocuous as the fact that the people interested to devote their time to a late night news program are just a few. Another reason of such declination could be the flagging local economy that could result into deterioration of local business organizations. Hence, the author needs to provide a compelling evidence that could prove the relation between changes adopted by the news agency to the cancelling of advertisement contracts.

Nevertheless, the suggestion made by the author to restore the previous news programing structure isn't entirely refutable. Although, it isn't the only feasible solution to the problem. In order to make his argument plausible, the author needs to present absolute evidence and evaluate the potential ramifications of such implementation before making any claim.