A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The movie producer lucidly demands a 10% increase in the funding of a particular movie because the director and the crew for the movie are inexperienced and unfamiliar. The producer further bolsters his insinuation by emphasizing that the novice director would not be able manage time efficiently, consequently resulting into greater expenditures in paying the actors. Moreover, the producer believes that the movie will definitely result into a failure, if the demanded raise in the funding is not achieved. Clearly, there are many assumptions that the producer has taken into consideration without any basis.

Firstly, the producer assumes that an inexperienced person is inevitably incompetent. However, it is completely preposterous and ridiculous to make such an assumption. Although, the director does not have any experience in making movies, that does not implicate that he/she is not aware about the production of a movie. Every person is inexperienced when he/she begins some new process and so is the new director. It is indeed possible that he knows everything about directing a movie, but hasn't really been awarded a chance before.

Secondly, the producer generates a direct link between the advertising and movie business. He assumes that the director is going to make similar prodigal expenditures as in advertising. However, there is no basis to assume that. Movie making and advertise making are two completely disparate business, irrespective of having many similarities. Also, if the producer believes that the novice director would be notoriously prodigal in spending money, maybe a change in the director rather than a raise in the fund seems a more feasible solution of the problem.

Finally, it is also assumed that if the requisite amount of funding is not received, then the movie will result into a failure. Although, funding is an indispensable tool for a movie, there are many other factors upon which the success of a movie depends. For example, a heavy budgeted film like "Transcendence", might result into a failure due to poor story and incompatibility to satiate the audience. On the other hand, a short budgeted film like "The Gangs Of Wasseypur" may result into a blockbuster, because of excellent story and impeccable acting. Thus, to assume the success of a movie on the basis of funding is entirely unjustifiable.

Therefore, the demand of the producer to raise funding is based upon many faulty assumptions, eventually making his demand unjustifiable.