People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The claim of the author implies that allowing emotion to overcome a judgement can lead to poor decisions. It seems to be valid at an inchoate level, bolstered by the fact that thinking is better justified by brain than by heart or emotions. People who allow emotions to inundate their decisions often have to regret later on.

Decision making is a very complex and convoluted process, involving astronomical amounts of permutations and combinations, leading to infinitely many possible consequences. A person must consider all the potential ramifications that could result due to implementation of a decision, irrespective of the number of factors involved. Such recondite procedure can only be successfully attempted if the thinking is done logically rather emotionally.

Emotions are indispensable and irrevocable parts of a human being and it would not be refutable to assume that in almost every decision that a human being makes, there is a certain level of involvement of emotions. Nevertheless, a person must keep his equanimity and composure while making his decisions. Most of the decisions resulting due to emotional outburst turn out to be haphazard and affect detrimentally, sooner or later. For example, the decision taken in extreme anger, to sue your new neighbor who accidentally or innocuously mowed your lawn, might turn out not only losing a potential friendship but also beginning an unwanted rivalry.

However, it is also an impeccable fact that a person who follows his gut is more likely to become successful. Many of the world's prominent and prodigal entrepreneurs would admit that they made their decisions emotionally while the others logically condemned them. On the other hand, a good habit of logical decision making could make your life more easier and prosperous; although to judge whether a decision is beneficial or deleterious should be irrespective of the result of that decision.

Thus, it would be sagacious to assume that a person must make his decisions logically but with a little courage and confidence upon his emotions.