The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The author insinuates the encouragement of recycle in order to save money on garbage disposal. The claim of the author is bolstered by the comparison of a similar implementation in the neighboring town which produced favorable results. Although the recommendation of the author seems sagacious, there are crucial perspectives and key points which need to be considered in order to make the recommendation plausible.

First, the author assumes that increasing recycle would result into decrease in garbage disposal fees. Although the amount of garbage reduces due to recycle, there is no information to determine that the garbage disposal fees would be reduced. The author needs to provide information that could answer questions such as: How is the garbage disposal fees calculated? What kind of garbage significantly affects the disposal fees? Will the reduced quantity of garbage result into reduction of the fees?

Second, the author makes a direct comparison between two neighboring town and assumes that similar results would be produced. The author does mention an implementation of fine concerning the recycle of paper and glass in the contiguous town, However, no such implementation is mentioned for Masontown.

Will the encouragement of recycling be enough for the citizens to abate garbage? Without a vigorous implementation such as a fine the intended results to decrease garbage costs would be very difficult to achieve. What makes the author believe that a similar result would be produced if an identical implementation is made? The conditions, ideology and mindset of people, the garbage disposal agency, etc. might be different for both the towns. Hence, it would not be safe to expect a similar outcome without supporting information.

Furthermore, the author believes that encouraging the residents to recycle via an advertising campaign would help them save money on waste disposal. This is partially true; since the people would be encouraged to recycle, but it does not mean that the disposal cost would be diminished. The author provides no information about the plans to save money. What is the correlation between recycling and saving money? What plans does the author have in order to execute his recommendation?

Therefore, it can be concluded that the recommendation of the author, despite being beneficial for the environment as well as for the people of the province, does not consider critical perceptions. Perhaps, the author needs to supply enough information that could successfully answer the above raised questions.