The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

The letter urges to implement an advertising campaign to encourage residents of Masontown (M) to recycle. The writer implies that this action would save money on disposal of its waste and presents several points in support of the statement. This arument may seem correct but it is flawed with several fallacies.

At first, it is said that to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, residents need to be encouraged to recycle more. But, no supporting information is provided that can prove that this action alone will save money on garbage disposal. Maybe Masontown's garbage collection and disposal plan is already worldclass and there's little scope for cost reduction.

To serve the argument, the author stated facts about Hayestown(H). This city passed a law requiring all households recycle paper and glass otherwise citizens have to pay fine. Since, that time Hayestown's garbage disposal cost significatly decreased. But, it is mentioned nowhere that whether the law was implemented or not. Just passing a law doesn't mean that it's being implemented. Even if the law is implemented strictly, it's also not ensured that only and only this action lead to reduction in disposal cost.

The writer states that Town H implemented law regarding paper and glass recycle. Maybe those are the most common waste. But, those may not be common in Town M. Town M might be an industrial city with little or no recyclable waste. It may also happen that it's consensus is too low that it produces little amount of garbage and implementing recyling facility may actually increase cost.

Another flaw of the argument is the writer is advocating about advertising campaign to encourage residents to recycle. But, the advertising campaign may fail entirely. It might be necessary and only way to implement law to encourage recycling.

Recycling might be a wonderful way to solve the waste dispoosal problem but it may not be always cost effective. To convince me about initiating advertising campaign, the writer need to present evidence that people of Town M is conscious and by only that advertisement campaign, they will be encouraged to recycle and no laws needed to be implemented. I need further proof that recycling cost will not increase the total cost of garbage management in Town M. The writer also should present solid evidence regarding amount of recyclable waste produced in Masontown.