An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

In the given paragraph, it is stated that an international organization has developed a vitamin-A rich millet breed to fight vitamin-A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus and it seeks government support to promote this new type of millet based on the evidence like millet is already a staple food in Tagus and they would readily adopt the new variety. This organization even proposed to pay subsidies to farmers to bear the cost of this seeds. I don't think these evidence are enough for supporting the organization's cause and the government should look for more information before granting support.

Firstly, it is stated that new breed is rich in vitamin-A. But there is no supporting information provided that this breed is enough and actually performs well in human body and can actually supply more vitamin-A. It is also required to prove that this engineered breed will not have any adverse effect on human body even if it can fill the deficiency of vitamin-A.

Secondly, it is clearly stated that cost of seeds of this new breed is higher and they proposed that subsidies will be given to the farmers for farming this new breed. It is not clear that how much subsidies will be provided or who will provide this. Even if the subsidies are provided by the organization, nothing is mentioned about the new price tag of this new seeds, even it is possible to cost much higher even after providing subsidies. In this case, farmers may not show interest in farming new breed.

Thirdly, there is no evidence presented that farmers will be interested in this project even if cost of the seeds is less. New breed may require new type of farming method, more time to grow or may increase cost of cultivating by affecting other factors and these factors may lead to lose if interest among farmers.

Moreover, there is no evidence presented that successful farming of new breed is possible in Tagus. It is possible that environment of Tagus is not suitable for new breed which will lead to lose of the farmers and the project will turn to a failure too.

There is no supporting information presented which shows that people of Tagus are interested in new breeds. After cultivating, new breed may cost a lot higher than the regular breed which is not affordable by people of Tagus. Even if the price line is similar, people may not still adopt it because of insecurity of changing their long time food breed.

Finally, to have goverment support in this project for promoting new breed of millet, the argument requires to present additional informations. I would require the assurance that it will perform well on human body to provide more vitamin-A and this process will not have any adverse effect on human. I need to know who is going to fund for the subsidies and if government is meant to fund, whether they have sufficient funds. It should show that farming new breed in Tagus will profitable for farmers and it is actually cultivable here and productivity will not be affected. It should present information that cost of new breed will not be outside the limit of Tagus's peoples ability and they are interseted in new breed.