Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.
Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the
claim and the reason on which that claim is based.
It has been claimed that laws and legal system is unable to solve many problems of modern society
on the basis of the reasoning that it is not possible to change people's perception by laws. Though in
reality many problems actually can not be solved by legal system, I do not think that the reasoning is
perfect. Laws and proper implementation of those may lead to behaviorial change and actually
thange feelings and perception towards most of the things.
We nare living in a technologically advanced and fast growing and ever changing society. There is
almost huge amount of solutions to nearly every problems we face. But we have been presented
with latest and more complex issues everyday. As a part of human nature, we always try to push
forward our level of knowledge and ability. This trait is making our life more comfortable day by day
but also imposing threats we are not even ready for. For example, invention of coal based power
plant provides cheap electricity but it is causing great harm to the environment. Now researchers are
trying hard to save the world from the threats imposed to the atmosphere and environment. Same
case for social media. Though it started as a mean for bringing people close from all over the world
but in reality it has turned into addiction and indicted as a major reason behing flagging social
relationship and bonding.
It has been stated that laws and legal system fails to solve many of these modern problems as rules
and regulation can't change peoples feeling, emotion and perception. But in reality laws cange
change attitude toward anything so mfast than any other means. As a law is introduced and starts to
be implemented widely, it automatically produces mass concern that something must be wrong with
the stuff. People statrts to get aware and conscious about the stuff concerning new rules. It tens to
change attitude people's perspective toward the matter.
Even if the laws fail to introduce self-conciousness among the people, it's proper implementation
will force people to change their perception. If the legal system imposes large amount of fines for
environment pollution, manufacturers will be forced to adapt more environment friendly processes
of production.
However, imposing regulations may backfire and even fail to succeed in case of improper
implementation. For example, if laws are made to regulate social media usage time, there is no
gurantee that it will meet it's goal since people can use VPN or other browsing technologies to
bypass the monitoring.Finally, it is quite imposiible to solve all the problems by only rules and regulations. But most of the
problems can be addressed by laws and legal system. Laws hold the ability to change perception
toward any matter dramatically. But people's perception toward the law is also important. If people
respect the law and proper implementation of laws are possible, then most of our modern problems
can be soved by legal system as they can play the role of catalyst to change behaviorial aspects by
changing people's perception toward any problems.