A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The statement emphasizes on same national curriculum for all students till they reach college. Some degree of similarity in the curriculum is desired but it is not necessary to implement exactly the same system all over the country and it may not be necessary to continue till college. In fact, curriculum should reflect the need and history of the region to some extent. But, a totally different system in each region may cause problems for students as well as to college authority.

Firstly, national curriculum can make compulsory to all students across the nation. Some subjects are necessary to build up the foundation for further college education and even our daily lives. For example, we need knowledge of mathematics in every aspect of our lives, we all need to know our history and everyone should have proper communication skills to be successful in life. To deal with these basic criteria to live without depending on others, every school and high school should have curriculum which will cover all these aspects. And here comes the necessity of same curriculum to some extents. Because, if each institution deals with these basic subjects differently, the learning outcome will be different and students may not be completely skilled in these basic subjects if the school authority is can't properly build a curriculam on their own. Besides, a wide variety of standardized curriculum is necessary for all to provide everyone with chance of exploring different fields and find their interest.

However, there is little need to have exactly same curriculum all over the nation without the basic subjects which are necessary for all and important to deal with daily matters. Suppose, a high school student who has already dealt with basic and wide variety of subjects implemented by national curriculum, may find interest in a particular field. For example, that student may find interest in electronics but one of his friend whom he shared class with may find interest in anthropology. So, in that case after some level of school education, all student should have freedom to select courses according to their interest which would make them well prepared for the college education in their field of interest.

In conclusion, it's sure that same national curriculum to some extent is necessary to deal with basic daily matters. If totally different curriculum is implemented from elementary school, it'll also create problems to college authorities to deal with a wide variety of students. But, after some degree of compulsory curriculum to be followed by each and every institution, the students should have a degree of freedom to choose courses according to their interest and the school authorities should have freedom to design at least some courses according to the regional need. We neither want a student to be a victim of capricious curriculum implemented solely by school authority nor want a student with mental pressure who is interested in accounting dealing with calculus unnecessarily.