People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The statement implies that people who decide their course of works based on emotion and then justify their deeds with logic are poor decision maker. Though it is desirable that people should think before taking their decision, I don't completely agree with the fact that people who plans to work based on emotion are always poor decision makers. In fact, it's a too generalize idea.

A universal belief about how decision should be taken is reflected in the presented issue task. There is a saying that "Think before you do". Human tends to believe that if someone thinks and plans first before doing any task, the task is meant to be successfully completed. So, those who decide not to conform by the universal beliefs, the iconoclasts or the mavericks, often take decisions that is impossible to justify in the first place. According to the statement, these people are poor decision makers and meant to be a failure consequently.

However, history suggests that all the people who followed their heart instead of brain always are not always poor decision makers at all. In fact, some intriguing success stories we admire now, started just because of the whimsical decisions of some legends of the world history. Bill Gates can be mentioned as an example. A Harvard student, who could easily go with the flow, graduate from there and land a great job with a salary admirable to all. But, unlike most of the people, he decided to follow his heart. He dropped out from mighty Harvard, started his new computer company, which was not even popular in those days, and we all know him as an examplar in tech industry now. When decided to quit Harvard and start a new company, it was not justifiable at all. But his success talked on behalf of him. If he thought logically at that time like most of the people and stuck with college, we might not have either Bill Gates or such an advanced computer system. His intrepidity to follow his heart lead to his success. There are many cases like this around us like Mark Zuckerberg of Facebook or Steve Jobs of Apple. This kind of inspiration can be found in other sectors too. Like people leaving engineering/ medical college built successful career in the fields of arts like paining, photography, music etc.

Moreover, it is noe believed that just following logic can't ensure success. If anyone is not satisfied with what he or she is doing, it is very unlikely for him or her to have success even if he or she goes with the flow, think logically like people around them. Actually, well planning and logical thinking also don't guarantee success. A lot of well planned start-ups or scientific projects failed measurably. On the other hand, a lot of whimsical decisions are being taken all over the world which also turns to dust very quickly.

Finally, just like all the decisions carefully taken by brainstorming or logical discussion are not good decisions, the decisions which seems to be capricious are not all bad. There is success and failure in both scenario. So the statement is too narrow and generalized to judge people and their ability of taking decisions.