The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified

company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional

headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different

construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical

floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses

for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha.

Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the

Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a

stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather

than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

The vice president of a large, highly diversified company argued in a memo that their new building

project should be given to Alpha instead of Zeta. To support his argument, he presented some facts

about their other two projects completed by Alpha and Zeta. He stated that using Alpha would minimize construction cost and maintenance cost. Alpha would be able to construct energy efficient building and presented the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce. I am not convinced with the idea of giving the project to Alpha based on these facts only.

Firstly, Alpha and Zeta constructed two office buildings in two seperate regions. It may happen that

construction material cost, labour cost, transportation cost is much more higher in the region where

Zeta completed the project. In fact, it is also possible that if Zeta was allocated Alpha's project, Zeta

could complete it at much lower cost at that site.

Secondly, even if material cost and labour cost is similar, identical floor plans lead to different building cost based on quality of materials and quality of construction project. It is possible that Zeta's building is projected to last for much more higher period than Alpha's.

Secondly, last years maintenace cost can's summarize the fact that total maintenance cost is higher in case of Zeta's. It may have gone through some catastrophic event like riots or natural phenomenons lastyear which led to it's higher maintenance cost last year. Moreover, there is no evidence that may ensure that workload distribution was similar in this period. Zeta's site might be facing more work pressure and visitor recently than Alpha's or throughout the entire period of time which consequently led to higher maintenance cost.

Thirdly, vice president argues that Zeta's site consume much energy. Energy consumption is not

dependent only on floor plans. Other factors like what's happeninng there and how much of it's in usemay have effect on energy consumption. 50% of Alpha's site may remain unused due to company's poor business condition there and Zeta's site may be being fully utilized and some high tech projects are being done there and leading to higher energy consumption.

Another fact described as supporting data is Alpha's stable workforce. But, no evidence is presented

that Zeta's workforce is unstable. Even if Alpha's workforce is much more stable than Zeta's, there is no guarantee that this phenomena will continue in future. Zeta may have taken several measures to

improve it's workforce stability. It is also possible that Zeta's workforce is much more efficient than

Alpha's.

Finally, vice president's(VP) memo lacks strong evidence. To support VP's argument I would require

proposal from both company on new site's project to evaluate their cost efficiency on new site. I would also need the usage percentage of Zeta and Alpha's previous built buildings to make sure whether Alpha's site is actually energy efficient. To ensure the fact that maintenace cost was higher in Zeta's, I would all cost details of last 10 years, not only the data of last year, along with assurance that no irregular or catastrophic event happened in Zeta's site. VP should present the fact that Alpha has much efficient workforce and will continue to have stable workforce than Zeta's. If all these informations are provided, it will be possible to take effective decision on the allocation of project. Otherwise, VP's presented facts are ill conceived and supposed to be under extensive scurtiny.