The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Although fining the residents into compliance may have some grounding in reality, it should address a few more concerns before it it implemented in the public. Are these communites similar in any way beyond geographic neighboring? Or do the costs of this endeavour pay for themselves or do the fines offset that cost?

First and foremost, there is no reason to believe the neighboring communities with the same actions implemented will have the same results. Every year we see neighboring incredibly democratic communities right next to fiercley republican communities. Although these people live right next to one another, spatial relation does not always translate to a relation in views, beliefs, or in this case, actions. It may have worked in Hayesworth and it may have decreased the costs overall. But Masontown may be fiercly republican and fight taxes on a right of principle. We would need more information to assess if the communites are similar enough in demographics and views to decide if the same solution will result in the same results.

Secondly, we don't know the status of the people in Masontown. It may be that Masontown is an incredibly poor community and the residents could simply not afford another tax. Or that the cost of running both a garbage truck and a recycling truck would be too great to monitarily justify the process entirely. Although the garbage costs are lowered if that savings to the private company or the city passed on to the resident? They are punished for not recycling but where is the money coming from to run that recylcing truck? Do the savings of the garbage offset the costs of recycling? If the fines that are implemnted are used as justification for the extra expense what would be the sollution if everyone got on board with the program and there would be no one to fine? Would the program be self sufficent at that time?

If the communites were incredibly similar, in all ways, it is concievable to believe that the intended solutions would occur. But if not, I think further annalysis should be done to present a more clear picture on how this would acctually effect the community as a whole. The author in this case has a noble pursute and that should be respected; but if the monetary and social costs simply don't justify the means, I simply can't recommend this solution.