An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Medicine has long been a profession that was taken on by some of the best and brightest that society has to offer. It is one of the longest and toughest degree fields offered and rewards those who succeed with high paying opportunities and social clout. Patients often feel that they are well equipped to understand the risks and liabilities that come with medicine but in this essay we will determine that is not the case and why patients should not have access to a record for their doctors history.

As stated previously, medicine is a complex profession involving incredible cost benefit analysis, immense and intimate knowledge of many products, and an overall competency for most modern day diseases and medicines. This knowledge is specific to this profession and isn't readily known by the layman. Although this information has started to be dispersed by companies like WebMD and television commercials. Although the access to knowledge is vast, it is often misunderstood and can result in false self diagnosis which can be tough for the medical professionals to dispel. The rise of modern day self diagnosis, which are oftentimes incorrect, is simply another example of why laypeople should not be able to assess medical issues themselves. Although a patient looking at, what they think to be, a similar medical condition there could have been unknown complications that make those two diagnoses very different. This leads into the privacy risks as well. With incredibly strict HIPA regulations it would be difficult for a lay person looking for a new doctor to know that their condition is similar enough to another patients condition to even be weighted the same.

Another issue rising from this kind of a system would be demographic based. If a doctor is located in a place that has a predisposition to have complications they may be a fine doctor but may have a lower success rate overall due to the patients they take on. This could be seen when looking at incredibly complex surgeries where a doctor might be highly praised, by their peers, for taking on extremely tough cases but have a lower success rate than one who takes on much easier clientele. Again, to a lay person, this may look like the doctor is worse overall as a percentage but may indeed by far superior if the patients were the same across the board.

Although access to information and the ability to have autonomy in ones own healthcare is important, it is also pivotal to account for the fact that most people are going to a doctor because they don't understand what is wrong with them. These people have to take the medical advice given to them and make informed decisions on that. With the help of second opinions and advice from qualified individuals I feel that most people would be able to make informed decisions on their health with the current system.