Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim, that an action is "good" if it produces more good than bad is a fallacious argument, that even with the reasoning, cannot be presented as a complete argument, and should be discounted until more proof could be provided. The argument that any action is good or bad based off of results is one that should not be used in everyday use. I disagree with this argument and the reasoning for it and think that it could cause more harm than anything else.

The argument that an action is good or bad based on the results should not be one that crosses out mind in the general public. Although cutting off another driver may produce a better flow of traffic for the many cars behind you, that does not mean that the action of cutting off another driver should be encouraged. Although it is true that waiting until the last moment to merge would produce a more cohesive and better traffic flow, that doesn't discount the actions initial actions that anther human was inconvenienced for the convenience of others.

The "good" or "bad" of an action, without an objective morality, are not able to be determined. Although you may see the actions as "good" I may see them as "bad" when using my morality to assess them. This means that although I may see going into another county and preaching a religion as a good thing, others, with different moralities, may indeed disagree and they have a right to. This means that it isn't possible to objectively determine if a result is good or not. That would be dependent on one's own morality. This is the root of the issue for this argument. If one could not objectively determine of the action is good or bad, how are we to know if the action is good or bad?

The thought that the results of ones actions are more important than the intent could lead to some serious consequences in which a very bad actions could result in a good outcome for the most number of people. This would then lead the population to praise the individual, and by extension their actions even if it were not morally right. Take for instance if Hitler had become victorious in World War Two. The people that think Hitler was right would praise the actions of the Hollocaust even though those actions are objectively terrible and should in no way be praised. This would lead to an entire population of people who think that is is morally right to assasinate the Jewish people as a whole; and that should be morally repulsive to everyone.

Although the argument that the actions that causes the most good for the most number of people is one that makes the world relatively easy to understand and to quickly find the "good" and the "bad" things, it can cause some unintended consequences that should be addressed beforehand. If objective moralities were established and agreed upon by all of the people effeced by this it would be a much better reason for implementing this thought process.

The point in all of this is that morality in these cases is subjective and would be difficult to parse out a moral right and wrong if there were no objective morality to follow. Because of the difficulty and problems outlined here, I disagree with the statement that actions are good or bad based off of the outcomes and not the intent behind them. I feel this could lead to the degredation of entire societies of social norms and cause a great deal of harm to those around the decision makers.