Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim of the author undermines the possibility of a human being of the present generation to be capable enough to be entitled as a "hero". The tone of the author is undoubtedly cynical and it is utterly impossible to agree with. The inability of being a hero is bolstered by the assumption that no man or woman of the current generation can come out clean of a media scrutiny. At an inchoate level, the claim might sound to be true but it would be entirely unjust to the whole mankind; assuming that everyone prominent in today's world is corrupt.

The news and the internet are inundated by immoral revelations of some of the most imminent and influencing personalities in the modern world. However, this does not implicate that everyone who is infamous to a certain level is bound to be fraudulent or committing discrepancies. Even though, a majority of people who seemingly have achieved the zenith of their career are being accused of fallacious acts, there still exists a healthy number of leaders who are honest and moral even in the cruel modern world. The claim that no one could be an ideal person is absurd at its very core.

Also, the capability of being a hero depends upon the definition of a hero, which inadvertently varies from person to person, making the claim even more complex and convoluted. A hero does not necessarily have to be a politician or an actor or an entrepreneur; which are more vulnerable to be found corrupted. For a common person his teacher or father or brother could serve as an inspiration, as a hero. Even a perspicacious friend could serve to be an idol for an individual. So, in reality, the dearth of a hero in the modern society as presented by the author, does not exist. Local heroes which are honest and unaffected by the morally stigmatizing activities are still persistent, and will exist in the future.

The author also insinuates that any famous personality when subjected to a scrutiny is revealed to be diminished. Conversely, the media is not ideal either. There have been numerous occasions where media is found to be corrupt or influenced by deleterious individuals. Under such a scenario, it is difficult to believe whether the accused is actually guilty or being intentionally disparaged for rather undisclosed ulterior motive. Also, the media tends to accentuate the discrepancies and aberrations of an infamous individual, neglecting the positive qualities, and thereby diminishing the image before the public.

As cynical as the claim seems to be, it is nevertheless, not an entirely refutable statement. The people who are venerated for many years, in the end turn out to be fraud. However, it does not mean that the existence of modern heroes is impossible. A person, morally and ethically sound, irrespective of his pecuniary or fame status, is a hero himself.