Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim of the author asserts that if the results produce more benefits in comparison to the detriments, then the action is morally justifiable. Although it is the result that matters in the end, the intention of an action is equally significant as that. The author believes that an action is morally acceptable as long as it produces favorable results, even if the intentions were not propelled to do so. It is difficult to agree with such an ideology, especially when ethics and morality are concerned.

According to the author, the deleterious results of an action are inconsequential as long as the beneficial results are significant. However, the degree of "goodness" of a result might vary from person to person. A result might be good for someone while at the same time it could be bad for others. If, for a moment, such an ideology is accepted; then every criminal is innocent, since his/her actions could have produced good results for someone. For example, a burglar, who steals money from a wealthy person becomes innocent from the view of the burglar's family; since it produces more good results than bad results. Thus, accepting such a claim could generate drastic ramifications that could challenge the fundamental principle of law.

The author also believes that the morality of the actions should be judged from results rather than the intentions. While this reason does express pragmatism, the statement itself contradicts the basic definition of mortality. According to the author, the people who intended to be criminals or lawbreakers, are morally and ethically sound, since they somehow were unable to complete the intended action.

Therefore, in conclusion, the claim of the author is unacceptable, since the ideology could hurt and stigmatize the law and order. The author does not take into account the various perspectives before making such an extreme claim.