The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument

The author claims to strengthen the borders of a country in order to preserve its identity and economy. The author also describes his antipathy towards the illegal immigrants by making a proposal to send them off back to their indigenous nations. Illegal immigrants impose a huge threat on the security as well as economy of a country. Many of the world's leading nations, such as the United States, are facing astronomical amounts of challenges due to the presence of illegal immigrants. Despite, the precariousness of the situation, the author does miss out some key points extremely significant for the validity of his claim.

Firstly, the author establishes a direct relationship between the number of illegal immigrants and the economy of the country. Although, the money earned by the illegal immigrants never reaches the government in the form of taxes, these people are generally exploited by their employers and thus, never earn enough so as to cause a decline in the overall economy of the nation. Even if their remuneration or salary were to be accounted for national income through taxes, it would not have been able to make a substantial contribution.

Further, the author assumes that the presence of illegal immigrants is likely to cause a security threat. However, the radicals or terrorists that are arrested for causing national destruction hardly turn out to be an illegal immigrant. Such a terrorist might be a foriegner but an immigrant is completely disparate from a foriegner who is not a resident of that country. Conversely, many illegal immigrants have been working relentlessly, eventually resulting into the betterment of the nation.

Also, it is not entirely justifiable to exile an honest and hardworking person, just because he is eventually found to be an illegal immigrant. Although, being an illegal immigrant is indeed a crime, his contributions over several years cannot be undermined ruthlessly. There are lighter modes of punishment such as penalties and overtaxing, but to rule them out would not be entirely conscionable.

There are many other means by which the autonomy of a country can be preserved, and the suggestion of the author to strengthen border is indeed advantageous, but ruling the already present illegal immigrants is an extreme step. The ramifications of such an implementation could be drastic and dreadful.