The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Mayor of Hillview is recommending that Autotech builds its automobile manufacturing plant to alleviate the unemployment problem in the town. This recommendation should not be followed because there are several undefined characteristics and unspoken assumptions made by the major that make his argument questionable. Before making a decision to authorize a campaign to attract Autotech, the mayor must define a few aspects of his argument and then the recommendation could be reevaluated.

First, the mayor states that their is a "serious unemployment problem". The mayor never defines what "serious" means. There is no concrete evidence such as number of unemployed in relation to total population of the town. The percentage of unemployed needs to be statistically significant before it can be rendered as "serious". Otherwise, there is no need for address the problem as a whole.

Second, the mayor also states that this "serious unemployment problem" is a result of Computech abandoning its national facility.Even though it is highly plausible, one cannot fall for the most common statistical mistake. Correlation is not causation. There is no evidence that Computech caused unemployment in Hillview. Again, concrete empirical data would be necessary to understand the influence that this event affected the unemployment rate of the town. This is purely an assumption made by the Mayor. There is a possibility that the unemployment rate could be due to a combination of decreases in other industries and companies in Hillview.

Third, if it is found that the unemployment rate is due to Computech and its abandonment of its national facility, the Mayor makes the assumption that those who worked for Computech could also work for Autotech. This assumption is not valid. Computer software programming and automobile manufacturing are two completely different industries, and therefore employers are required to have an entirely different set of skills to work. In his argument, the Mayor is suggesting that software programming skills can be easily transferrable to auto manufacturing, which is by no means true. So, those who have become unemployed by Computech would not be able to obtain a job at Autotech because they would not be qualified, unless there were able to obtain those skills in a timely manner. The likes of that happening is highly unlikely, and the problem of unemployment would remain unsolved.

Because of these three reasons, the Mayor's recommendation to encourage the construciton of Autotech's automobile manufacturing plant in Hillview does not seem reasonable, but it cannot be officially evaluated until specifics are better defined and assumptions are cleared up.