Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In the past decade, global climate change has been a controversial issue in the political and social sphere. Large debates on the endeavors to pursue to combat it has ensued, and has resulted in two main arguments. First, some believe that it is of the utmost importance for society, especially capable developed countries, to start living a more sustainable lifestyle such as recycling, using clean energy, etc. Second, others do not believe that global climate change is plausible and life should continue as is. I, personally, would agree with the former because of the large amounts of scientific data that has supported the ever rapidly changing global climate and the dangers it has on the planet and human population.

Scientists have been studying global climate change for decades, and it has become apparent that the atmospheric temperature of the earth has been steadily increasing. This temperature increase has caused several drastic changes in the environment of the planet. One of the most important is that it has started to melt the polar ice caps of Antarctica. This is a serious problem for current global population because the melting of the polar ice caps leads to sea levels rising. In 2012 alone, enough ice melted to be the equivalent of Niagra Falls in water. These sharp increase in sea levels have dire consequences for societies that live in and near the water. Islands are disappearing and more towns and cities are moving inland. Take, for example, Venice, the city in Italy that has been known for its beautiful canals, but now, with the ever increasing sea levels the city is in danger of being completely submerged. Thus, displacing thousands of citizens.

This is just one of the many egregious effects that global climate change has had on the planet, and it affects everyone.

Many countries have already been trying to combat global climate change with their own strategies towards sustainability, and as a result the population has proven to have a higher standard of living and better health outcomes. Switzerland is one of the most environmentally friendly countries in the world. It has taken several measures to create a sustainable society such as a very detailed recycling system divided by types of plastics and usage of cleaner, alternative sources of energy. Swiss water is now considered some of the cleanest drinking water on earth that you can drink from the public fountains, and the population has some of the highest life expectancies of all the countries. Switzerland proves that sustainability is more than just to protect the planet, but also the people that live on it.

The legitimacy of the latter argument stems from the idea that most developed countries do not ever actually see the effects of global climate change, therefore, to them, it almost does not exist. However, with globalization and the rapid development of technology, people of all places are connected. People, more than ever, are more informed about places outside of where they live. The only way to avoid seeing the devastating effects of global climate change would be to avoid any social media or wifi-based technology; which we all know is downright near impossible for our generation. So, this argument renders invalid.

In conclusion, because of all the given scientific evidence, it is imperative for developed nations to start reducing their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle for the betterment of the planet, themselves, and the future.