A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self­ reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they “frequently” had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also reported that they had felt “sad, down, or blue” at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well­ being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

With the rapid development of technology and the global spread of the internet, more and more people are using the internet than ever before. But, to some, this may not always be a good thing. Based on the results found in this survey, some of come to believe that spending excessive amounts of time online is directly linked to depression. However, because of the lack of specifics and unstated assumptions, this argument is flawed and should be re-evaluated before their suggestion of reducing online time should be followed.

First, in order for any statistical data or surveys can be considered of value, it has to be rendered statistical significant. This survey in particular is not. For data to be statistically significant, it must have a very large sample size, and of that sample size, the population must be representative of all. The argument developed from this survey suggest that time online should be restricted. It does not specify which part of the population should adhere to this,even though the data only accounts for adults between the ages of 30 and 45. Therefore, the survey is not representative at all. If empirical evidence was necessary to support this argument, a survey with more than 250 people with a range of different age groups would need to be given and analyzed. The original survey is to narrow in scope to make such a grand statement against time online.

Second, the main suggestion states that time online is linked to depression, but depression and its symptoms are never fully defined. The survey, of which these suggestion is based on, has illustrated that the adults who spend 30 hours or more online were twice as likely to report that they have trouble concentrating. How does this relate to depression? More information on what the specific signs and symptoms of depression are and whether or not 'trouble concentrating' is one of them would be necessary to prove that this evidence is relative. Otherwise, this information seems out of scope.

Third, the survey also states that 20 percent of those who spend more than 30 hours per week online has felt 'sad, down or blue' at least three times within the past month. The suggestion assumes that these times of sadness are a direct result of online usage. Yet, the survey never specifies if that is so. Those who have taken the survey may have become sad because of outside unrelated reasons such as a family tragedy or stress. To assume such a cause would be a perfect example of the faulty 'correlation is causation' concept.

Because of the lack of specifics and incorrect assumptions, excessive amounts of time online should not be linked to depression without clarification of these flaws and more empirical research. Only after these questions and concerns are addressed can this suggestion be re- evaluated and a final conclusion be made.