Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Today, there are two main arguments on the reasoning behind increasing violence in society. The first argument blames violence in the media. The second states that peers and family have the main influence. I, personally, would agree with the second argument for several reasons.

Firstly, studies have shown when it comes to the development of values and character in children, the biggest influencers are the parents and the peers. Parents are the original influencers, providing their children with the foundation of their understanding of the world and how it works. As the children grow older and spend less time with their parents and family and more time with their peers, peers become more of the character builders. Children often shape their personality, their likes, their dislikes, their behaviors according to the friends they spend their time with. Now, whether these parents or peers are encouraging violence is variant throughout society and are often based on socioeconomic status, location, and other social aspects.

Second, violence in the media today are often distant from the viewers. For example, there have been several terrorist attacks occurring in the country of France. U.S. media, like CNN, cover these stories and broadcast them on American television. While these attacks are tragic for the French, this occurrence is happening several thousand miles away from the U.S. The sheer distance is argument enough to claim that violence in the media, like this, is not a cause for violence in U.S. society. Its like the common phrase, "out of sight, out of mind". Americans do not see the violence on their own home front, and therefore do not respond or think about it; at least not for that long.

Third, using the same example of the French terrorist attacks, this same media coverage is portrayed as detrimental to society and downright evil. Thus, discouraging the use of violence altogether. If violence in the media has any sort of influence on its viewers, it would be that violence and terror is bad and should not be followed.

While it may seem implausible, the first argument has some legitimacy. Media can be a major influencer because of its sheer presence. Media is seen any and everywhere at all time in everyone's life through TV, magazines, billboards, social media, etc. It's possible to see violence almost everyday. However, in my opinion, my third argument, that media portrayal of violence as ultimately bad, trumps the idea that over exposure of violence produces more violence because its ultimate goal is to expose violence as an example of what not to do. It is ultimately discouraging it. Because of the stronger influence of family and peers and the manner in which violence is portrayed in the media, I strongly agree with the second argument and believe that it is a much more plausible cause for increasing violence.