Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much­ needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that the Pleasantville School Board should make community service a requirement for all students prior to graduation to both address the declining number of teenage volunteers in charitable organizations and to teach the value of community service to students. While, at first, this may seem to be a highly logical idea, there are some ill-defined concepts and unstated assumptions of the argument that are not fully addressed, and therefore make the argument flawed.

First, the claim states that "it is important for young people to learn the value of community service" and "importance of giving back to their community." Why community service is so important is never defined. Is there a significant reason why this should be taught to students? For the Pleasantville School Board to be able to utilize more resources and change entire school policies, the need and the value of "community service" must be explicit to the board and the people involved.

Second, there should be some research done to study the results of a policy change like this in relation to the students involved. The argument assumes that everyone involved will abide by the new policy easily .During this time period, high school, students' behavior are especially more erratic and irrational. Just because the school board makes it a requirement does not mean that students will follow accordingly. In fact, it is highly likely that students will see the 40 hours of community service as more of chore than important lesson in values. Thus, contradicting the whole reason on making this policy in the first place. A study with empirical data would be a useful way to ensure positive results of the policy change before actually moving forward with it.

Because of these few flaws, the suggestion to make community service a requirement for High School graduation is not reasonable until further research is done.