Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Morality is understood to be the ability to discern right from wrong. While this statement may seem simple at a glance, but executing perfect morality is downright impossible because the very definition of 'good' or 'bad' and 'right' and 'wrong' is not universal. There is no exact definition that is accepted by all, and because of that, morality is often times based on one's own judgement.

The following claim states that it is considered morally correct if there is more good than bad that results from the action. I would have to disagree with this. Like previously mentioned, what is good and bad is defined differently for all people, and because of this, good and bad is not black and white. There is a huge grey area up for discussion including this claim. Ultimately, understanding morality depends on what a person values more. For example, a family has a relative in a coma. Their relative has been in a coma for several months and has shown only minor signs of improvement. The family must decide whether they should take their relative off of life support or if they should continue the care in his vegetative state. This situation has no clear 'right' answer. The former choice allows for the family to move on with their own life, saving themselves from watching deterioration of a relative and saving a lot of money in hospital expenses. In this choice, the good results are the family's own emotional and financially survival, and the bad results are the death of the relative. The latter choice gives the relative a fighting chance for survival. The results are the possibility of saving a life, and the bad choices are the hospital payments and the emotional rollercoaster that the family must endure. Which choice is more morally correct is relative. Is there, in fact, more good results than bad? It depends on whose asking. Therefore, I cannot support the claim that an action is morally correct if the amount of good results from the action is greater than the bad because moral correctness cannot be defined that easily and involves a closer look into the interworking of the situation at hand.

The reasoning behind this claim states that the results of an action are more important than the intent of the person performing the action. I would have, again, disagree with this. Does the ends really justify the means? This concept has always been up for debate, but again, like the argument against the claim it depends on the situation and the values that the person making the action/decision lives by. I believe that there often more times where the ends do not justify the means. For example, there may be a large corporation that is known for donating a lot of their profit to charity, but the means in which they initially received that profit involved unfair working conditions and unfair wages. Does the cruel treatment of many employees justify the large donations to charity? Furthermore, there are more situations where good intentions end with bad results, than bad intentions ending with good results. For me, I believe that this is a better alternative because while the good intentions may not end well, there is a lesson still to be learned from the results, and improvement can be made to see the good intentions come to fruition. There is growth and development in good intentions that could lead to good intentions with good results. Therefore, in this case, intent is more important than results.

Morality is a complex concept. It involves the philosophy of good and bad, social context, personal values, and more. There is never a clear cut. To unravel morality, is to understand the situation to its fullest. So, in order to assess morality, one must first understand the situation fully and then make their own decision about it.