The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the local Mason town newspaper, recycling will save the town money in municipal garbage disposal fees. While this argument may seem logical at first glance, there are many unstated assumptions and ill-defined terms that ultimately render this argument unreasonable. Before a campaign encouraging residents to recycle can be initiated, further research and refinement of details of the original argument must be made, then re-evaluation can ensue.

The argument, first, suggests that Masontown needs to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees. No where in the argument does it specifically state that Masontown has high garbage disposal fees or that these garbage disposal are a problem for the town. Does the garbage disposal fees really warrant a change in policy? In order to answer this question, empirical data must be collected. Data that would demonstrate the current cost of garbage disposal, its perception of it from the community, and its cost relative to other community fees (education, public space, etc.) would be necessary to answer this question. If, in fact, the fees are high, the community also believe its too high, and that it costs as much or more than other community fees, then and only then can the garbage disposal fee be considered an issue that needs to be addressed with policy change.

The argument also states that the neighboring town, Hayesowrth, passed a law and saw significant decrease in garbage disposal costs. The argument used this data as reasoning for policy change in garbage disposal in Masontown. While empirical data is important, the data must be very detailed so as not to fall for the common statistical error of 'correlation is causation'. The argument claims that the law directly affected the disposal costs, but there is the possibility that the decrease in disposal costs could be due to many other community factors such as the community, in general, having less waste than before. Research data such as this needs to be directly related to the situation at hand before it can be used as evidence to back the argument. If Hayesworth produced data that confirms that the decrease in disposal costs were directly due to the passing of the law, then this data can be considered relevant and useful in the Masontown argument. Once this research is more defined, it can then be used to evaluate the argument.

Lastly, the argument assumes that advertising recycling will lead to money savings on waste disposal. However, it is incorrect to assume this correlation because people are erratic in behavior, and the power of advertisement is being overestimated. Just because, the town advertises recycling doesn't mean the towns people will recycle. In fact, if Masontown invests money into recycling advertisement, and the towns people do not recycle, Masontown will actually lose money. Therefore, this specific recommendation should not be followed and should be replaced with a recycling campaign that can better persuade residents to participate in recycling.

With all these unstated assumptions and lack of detailed data, the recommendation made in the local Masontown newspaper should not be implemented until more research is done.