Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

I agree with the policy that students should opt for courses within a field that they are interested in pursuing.

Humans tend to forget certain things if they are not reviewed often. When students are burdened with superfluous courses, they are more likely to forget the courses that are significant to their development in a field as they have to fill their minds with other courses as well. Students will have to devote some focus for the courses that are impertinent to their field as well. Ironically, more number of diverse courses will stymie the development of a student in his or her interested field.

Students take up courses in universities in order to make a career out of it and hence, they should be adequately trained for it. Most organizations prefer candidates who are erudites in a field and therefore the students who give undivided focus to the courses related to the fields that they are interested in, will have a greater preference over those who juggle between various diverse courses as they do not share the same level of expertise as the former group of students. The students who opt for the courses of a field which interests them will also fare better than the others in the work place as well, as they will have a greater knowledge about the field than the others.

While there are some positive consequences of this policy as discussed above, there are some repercussions to this as well, like the inability of some student to be able to make a good career decision. Some students who are willing to opt for courses in universities waver between various career options, they might not have the maturity to make such a big decision and therefore, end up being influenced by their peers or society and opt for a course that they regret later in their lives. Hence, students must be well aware of the current trends in the world and various career options. Infact, the schools should take up the initiative of educating students with the career options available and provide personalised career counselling for each student, for them to make a good decision for their future.

Another big problem due to this policy can be the restricted options for students after graduation. If students are circumscribed to a restricted curriculum then they will not have a wide range of career options to explore. They will have to start from scratch if they want to switch to a different field. Hence, students should have basic rudimentary courses for various fields, so that they can easily opt for advanced courses if they wish to opt for a different career path.

Hence, this policy will have positive consequences if it is implemented with certain changes in the current education system.