"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that production of alpaca overcoat should commence again after five years. However, the premise upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

To commence with, the author contends that they should start production of alpaca overcoat because they found new costumers for high quality wool. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if high quality wool is still a popular material for production of alpaca overcoat among consumers. One point that should be considered is that the taste of people in buying clothes rapidly change day in day out so, for this reason there is no guarantee that people still are willing to wear wool clothes after five years. It is also important to say that there is no valid evidence to show that this wool material is still a high quality one.

The author also asserts that because they do not produce alpaca overcoat for many years, it will be sold significantly and also their major competitor does not offer this product for years so, the demand for these costs are high. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some defects, due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the absence of these products enhance the likelihood of no demands for alpaca overcoats during past years. In this case, production of coats will not only be profitable but also they may face a terrible market in near future. Moreover, their competitor might attract people with different high quality clothes after five years, which could change the taste of people solely.

Finally, as set forth by the author the costumers will pay a substantial amount of money for alpaca overcoats due to the fact that the price of clothes have increased vigorously during past years and it will be profitable for the company. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if the increase in people's payments for other products means that they will pay equivalently for alpaca overcoat. One point that can't go unnoticed is that new fashion style clothing are improving day in day out and people are willing to put on clothes according to new fashion style. In this case, perhaps people avoid to pay a good amount of money for alpaca overcoats. This situation might run a company into serious problem.

Having scrutinized all premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.