The following appeared in a memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing."During the past year , workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on­the­job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts a

The argument has built its claim with unwarrented assumptions. The argument claims that the increase in on-the-job accidents happened because of the longer shifts comparing with nearby company and supported it with a study report which states that sleep deprivation and fatigue among workers. The conclusion of the argument has been made without further scrutiny behind the cause and that makes the argument to fall apart.

On the first hand, the argument has mentioned that, during past year, 30 percent increase in on-the-job accidents among workers at Butler Manufacturing and compared it with nearby Panoply Industries. First of all, to analyze more about the cause of accidents, we need to know about the type of accidents that had happened, which section caused the more accidents and the safety regulations being followed in that section. The accidents might have happened to novice workers who has only rudimentary experience, because of their apathy in machines handling in a machine dominated section, even though that section has followed strict safety measurements. In that case, we can’t blame neither the company’s safety regulations nor the working hours, but the ignorance of the worker. Therefore, knowing more details about the

on-the-job accidents and background reasons for the accidents are very important in making a conclusion.

Secondly, the argument has stated about the working hours by comaparing nearby company and the long hours are the reasons for increase in on-the-job accidents through out the year. Though it may seem coherent at first glance, with profound look we can see the weakening points in the statement. The argument didn’t say anything about the similarity in the two industries type. If we compare a concrete manufacturing company with a financial advice company, then the whole comparison becomes futile. Even if we consider that both companies are in the same industry, we need to know about the structure of working shifts in both companies. If one is with two five-hours shifts in a day and another is a one 8-hours shift, then talking about hours on shift based is not the right way to compare.

Finally, the argument has used very general terms and provided very less details about the study which stated sleep deprivation and fatigueness causes more on-the-job accidents among workers. If the study vaguely talks about causes for accidents but nothing about the type of workers among the study has been conducted, it agitates many questions towards its realibility.

As discussed in above paragraphs, the arguments has filled with many unstated assumptions which reduces the validity of the conclusion.