The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University: A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for the

The argument has been established based on some unstated assumptions. A study which was conducted at nearby University doesn't provide enough details to analyze the cause and reasons for the conclusion. Without proper backing details, concluding based on assumptions makes the argument to fall apart.

On the first hand, the argument had missed to provide any further details about both Seatown University and Oceania University. The comparison made about the free tuition provided to the Oceania University's college-aged children of faculty members. The Oceania University could have only young staffs and so they might have started to provide free tuition for their faculties' children to encourage and attract the staffs through benefits. In top of that, we don't know how many children of faculty members have gained the free tuition in reality. There might be single digit of students could have gained or none since they always preferred unmarried or young people as their staffs. Had the argument provided the number of faculties who had received those benefits, it could have strengthened the argument's claim.

Secondly, the university's ranking among the other universities would make a huge impact on the argument. The Seatown University may have higher ranking and rife reputation, on the other hand, Oceania University is an average ranked university. In such case, providing seats for Seatown University's faculty's family members even though their children don't qualify to get the seats through the common system, then it would lead to partiality in admissions and impact University's reputation whereas, Oceania University would not face any such problems instead they can attract people to work in the University. In addition to that, if Seatown University has a high reputation, it does not have to do anything in specific to lure new professors, in fact, professors would have high competition to be a part of Seatown University. If the details of both University's demand and ranking has been provided, the argument could have strengthened its claim.

Finally, we don't know anything about the number of staffs working in both universities and how big the institution is. In case, the Seatown University is a deemed University with branches of engineering, arts and science, and nursing, the number of staffs would be significantly greater than a University which may administer only one branch. Additionally, Seatown University might have provided other great benefits to its faculty members like good medical insurance, flexible working hours, great freedom to express faculty's opinion, and these things would have been a dream of Oceania University faculty members. In this way, the argument's lack of reasons weakens its authenticity on conclusion.

To sum up, the argument could have provided the number of staffs in both universities, working environment, University ranking and other details to support its claim. Without these reasonings we can not conclude.