ARGUMENT:A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majo

The argument has been constructed based on various unstated assumptions. The argument falls apart because of making a decision based on the percent increase in overall seafood consumption and relying on a study about two-incoming families mindset of having more outside foods.

To begin with, including the 30 percent increase of overall seafood consumption in Bay City restaurents in decision making is not much agreeable. The seafood consumption increase could have happened because of many reasons such that the less availability of other meats in the Bay City, ocean life could have been very low five years ago in the Bay City and goverment could have made successful attempts to revive them or the increased population could have made the people to expand their food habits to other foodtypes. Had the argument provided more details why the increase has happened, we can rely on the conclusion derived in the argument. And also, the argument had a cling on the fact that there is no current seafood specialty operating restaurants. The argument could have supported its decision by mentioning whether any restaurants, at that period, provided tasty seafoods even though they were not particularly seafood specialty restaurants.

Secondly, the author has pointed out about the study result on two-income families. To validate the study results, it is very important to analyse the region and the type of people included in the city. The food habits of a family highly depends on the adult’s job type and working hours. If the couple works in a 16-hours shift for a day, it is unlikely they will cook in home, at the same time, we can condratict this fact with the regular 8-hour shift works such as post offices, banks. Therefore, the argument becomes weaker by not providing these details about the study to validate its claim.

Finally, the argument has missed to highlight another fact about the economy level in the city. Since seafoods are basically high in cost, in most of the regions, and that makes difficult for families with less income. If the Bay City was filled with more than a half of low income families, then the argument’s conclusion will not yield expected results. Analysing the average income level in the region could support the assurance of profitable restaurant.

Had the argument provided more details about the Bay city’s average income level, more in-depth look on the study, the argument could have strengthened its claim. Without these implications, we can’t rely on the conclusion derived based on assumptions.