When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

Generally, a society expects that schools should be a platfor where students can learn most kind of extra curricular activities including art, music, sports and physical education according to their interests. Instead of pushing everything to each and every student, in most cases, schools provides options to students preference. When a school does not have enough funding and plans to eliminate one of such curricular activity courses, I would prefer art and music to be removed.

First, art and music is a very vast genre where a school must limit its courses to some particular areas. For example, music alone has different categories such as singing, instrumentation, lyrics writing. In those sub categories, there are plethora of options available to focus one's interest on. To be specific, in Indian culture, when it comes to singing there are classical, karnatic, rap and gana genres, when it comes to instruments learning there are piano, keyboard, tabela, tambura, veena and many more. If a school decides to provide music courses, it can't hire professionals in all kind of available options and teach the students. Instead, the school have to restrict its range of options and students are cornered to choose one among them irregard of their personal interests. So, eliminating music courses in a school, will benefit the school's funding well. On top of that, students also will have opportunity to explore their specific music interest from outside professional coaching.

Second, the high maintenance of equipments used in art and music courses on makes it less worthy to keep funding. For example, when a school conducts art and music courses, it have to purchase a enough number of music instruments based on its population. Having one instrument for a hundred students will not serve the course's purpose but will be maintained for name sake. Along with the buying cost, maintaining the instruments on working condition also requires money and human resources. So, for a thriving limited funded school, removing music courses will benefit with a huge impact.

In summary, though art and music courses are very important to trigger a student's curiosity and interest in extra curricular activities, cutting them will be helpful for a school that looks for cost effective courses.