Argue 99: The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store cafe in the space currently devoted to children’s books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children’s books are likely to decline. By replacing its children’s books section with a cafe, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of the Monarch Books recommends to open the in-store cafe which replace the children’s books corner to ward off the competition from Book and Bean. This recommendation seems credible initially, but lack of pieces of evidence leads me to question the validity of the recommendation.

First, the manager should suggest the adamant evidence about the opening of the Book and Bean. Since it’s only the intention that the Book and Bean notice, even a month ago, it could be changed any time. Thus, it cannot be ensured whether the Book and Bean open the Collegeville store or not. In addition, cafe is possibly not the only reason for the success of the Book and Bean. There may be other reasons for the success such as a cheap price or an excellent book recommendation service. In this case, additional in-store cafe may not hamper the success of the Book and Bean.

Second, the manager needs to provide more pieces of evidence about the validity of the recommendation that replace the children’s books corner to the in-store cafe. The manager suggested the census data about the population under age ten, but it may not directly indicate the tendency of population of child reader. Even if the population of whole children decreased significantly, the population of the child reader may not decrease substantially. Even if the decrease in sales of children’s books are confirmed, the deletion of the children’s books corner would take a toll on the base of Monarch Books: wide selection of books on all subjects.

Lastly, more credible evidence about the profit of cafe should be suggested. For the replacement, the Monarch Books need additional charge such as the construction fee and the salary for barista. If the additional charge overrides the profit from the cafe, then the cafe is no more a profit for Monarch Books. In addition, the success of the cafe of Book and Bean may depend on other factors such as the place of the store or the neighborhood lived besides the store. In that case, the opening of new in-store cafe in Collegeville possibly be terminated with the failure.

In conclusion, the manager’s claim is unconvincing in many aspects. Thus, the manager needs to provide more pieces of evidence about the opening of the Book and Bean, the abolition of the children’s books corner, and the new construction of the cafe.