The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

It is debatable whether young people for leadership should instill to cooperate or to compete. I agree with the argument, which means that young leaders should cooperate with each other rather than compete.

Granted, competing leadership is effective sometimes; especially in case of simple and easy work. For example, to find the solution of simple technological solution in industry, the leader may open a contest to find the appropriate solution for that. This may effective because the effort need in the work is not significant, and even can be handled by one person. Thus, because the competing attitude is important sometimes, it can be thought that the young leaders should be instilled by the competing attitude.

However, cooperating leadership is effective usually; especially in case of complicated and hard work. To illustrate, let's think about the next step after the aforementioned contest. The technological problem is solved via contest, and that solution should be adapted into the whole system. Since there is possibly lots of problems in step of adapting the solution, cooperation of each technological parts is inevitable. Even in the case suggested as the example for the good point of competing attitude, it need to be cooperative after the solving of the problem. Therefore, young leaders are better to have cooperative attitude.

In addition, cooperating leadership is useful even in case of the government. The work in government is like a mixing bowl of all social problems. That problems are so complicated and connected each other, that it cannot be solved by the effort of single person. To deal with that problems, not only in between persons, but also in between the department should cooperate each other to solve the encountered problems. If each department compete each other, then they will start to focus on the victory against other department, not the suggesting of successful solution for the social problem. Thus, this example bolster the opinion that the young leaders should have the cooperative attitude.

In brief, of course there can be other ways instead of cooperation or competition. However, in between the cooperation and competition, I think that the cooperation is the far better posture for the raising young leaders following to the aforementioned reasons.