The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal,

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. First born humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this letter, the correlation between the birth order and the levels of stimulation was argued based on the cortisol level. Although it may seem sound at first glance, but the lack of alternative explanation for the suggested evidence lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the author should provide the alternative explation that the cortisol is directly related with the level of stimulation. There are no sound explanation that the cortisol is produced by external stimulation. It is possibly made by another reason except stimulation such as the timing of that event. Even if the correlation between external stimulation and the level of cortisol is true, since there are no evidence that the cortisol is linearly proportional to the stimulation level, it should not be compared in numerical way. However, in this letter, the author mentioned that 'twice as much of the hormone cortisol', which possibly be minute if the initial amount of the cortisol is diminutive or if cortisol is not directly proportional to not the level of stimulation but the time under stimulation. Therefore, the concrete alternative explanation between cortisol and the external stimulation should be provided for more sound argument.

Moreover, the author should suggest the alternative explanation that the same relationship between cortisol and stimulation in the case of rhesus monkey can be accepted in same to the human beings. Even the DNA structure of human and monkey is different, it is significantly dangerous to expand the phenomenon that is only confirmed in rhesus monkey to the human. In addition, with the same aforementioned logic, the author should give more sound explanation about 'relatively high levels of cortisol', for example, density difference of 5 ug/mL in blood. Thus, more specific explanation whether the logic that only confirmed in the rhesus monkey can be accpeted to the human being should be provided to bolster the argument.

Lastly, the alternative explanation about the relationship of cortisol and pregnancy should be provided in sufficient manner. Since the comparison of the first-time mother monkey and the mother monkey who had had several offspring is not same individuals, which can be interpreted that the intrinsic condition of each monkey is different. Therefore, more evidence about the intrinsic information of each monkey should be provided. The difference of the cortisol hormone level plausibly be originated from that factor.

In summary, the author's argument in scietific journal may not sufficient to bring the conclusion that there is correlation between birth order and the level of stimulation. To strengthen the argument, the author should provide the alternative explanations suggested in this passage such as the relationship between cortisol and external stimulation level, the difference between species (rhesus monkey and human), and the intrinsic information of pregnant monkeys.