Slimville city residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that their exercise habits confirms more closely to what doctors and health practitioners recommend than they did seven years ago. During those seven years, more people have been taking daily walks than ever before. Although a few gymnasium complex in city have been closed down, the other sport complex and gymnasiums see full attendances in some seasons. Because of these positive changes in the exercising habits of slimville city residents, we predict that obesity rate of the city will soon below the national average.

The argument stated by the author sounds to convincing at first. But on closely analyzing the reasons and the basis on which the author has based his argument upon, it seems that there are a few assumptions that have been made by the author. These assumptions need to be taken into consideration and only then can we make a justifiable statement regarding the obesity rate.

Firstly, the author mentions that a survey was conducted recently through which it was found that the city residents have been working out according to what the doctors recommend. This statement does not tell us to what extent do the residents follow the the exercises given by the health practitioners. It just says that nowadays the workouts align closely to what they did long back. Also, there is no information regarding the residents who were involved in the survey. What if these people have just participated and have deceived the survey takers to appear health conscious.

Furthermore, there are more city residents taking daily walks than ever before. This does not depict in any way that the obesity rate will reduce. What if the population of the city might have increases during the past seven years. If there are a huge amount of people who have moved in to the city then this might be one of the reasons why there are more people walking daily. There old city residents might still not want to indulge in such health practices.

It is said that a few gyms have closed while the others are working. This first of all shows that the residents have opted to not go to the gyms and rather do something else as a workout or not do anything. Not working out weakens the argument stated by the author. Also, only a few gyms and sports complexes are full at some time of the year. This may during the times when most residents are free and may be willing to take part in these sports programs or workout in the gyms just for the time being. It is nowhere mentioned that these gyms are full throughout year or anything which supports the argument.

Thus, after considering all the above assumptions, it is clear that the author's statement can be refuted due to many reasons. In order to make a statement about the obesity rate and the health of the city residents, the author must look profoundly into these assumptions and must make a statement after they have been dealt with.