The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of the country's citizens

The effectiveness of a leader can be measured in various ways when it comes to a the well-being of a country. The leader is responsible for the overall status of his/her country. Many countries have gained a variety of accolades in various fields like military, scientific innovations, or even the commonwealth games. It sometimes happens that a country which has the largest military is said to be a great superpower. Or if a country has the most scientific discoveries, it is said to leading in the fields of science, technology, etc. This does not give us an overall picture of the well-being of the country's citizens. Aspects like poverty ratio, healthcare or even education of the citizens must be considered while making a decision of the well-being of a country and the effectiveness of its leader at the same time.

A country cannot be judged to be great solely on the basis of its accolades in military or various scientific innovations. And the leader cannot be said to be effectively positive on the county's behalf for these mere reasons. Let's take for example a country who has the greatest military power. This country will be considered a superpower for sure and the leader might also be feared by many. But what if the same country has a shortage of water supply? Or what if the poverty of the country is very high? The leader cannot be considered to be doin well for the country in this context.

In a country like India, which has some of the most wealthy people, there are a huge number of beggars and poor people. In order to improve the situation, if there are daily supplies of food and water to these beggars and plans are being carries out to reduce the poverty, then the government or the leader sitting at the top of the nation's hierarchy is said to be doing well. Many African countries lack to provide formal education. A leader should be willing to take steps in order to make sure that the all the citizens are educated so that the literacy rate rises and it can be of good use to the country.

To sum up, a leader can be considered to be effective if the general well-being of the citizens of his/her nation is good. There achievements that a country gains contribute very little to the overall image of the country. But at the end, it is the mere day-to-day necessities of the citizens that are to be fulfilled. If a leader is able to achieve this, then the leader is said to be effective.