Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

There is no shortage of opinion on whether television advertisements directed towards should children in the age group of two to five years must be allowed or not. Personally speaking, I believe that advertisements directed towards you children must not be allowed. There are two reasons for my claim. I will discuss the reasons supporting my stand in the following paragraphs.

First of-all, the children within the age group of two to five years are very naïve. They do not have understanding about most of the stuff shown on television. And if on top of that there are advertisements directed towards them, they would not be of any use. The children are very young to even interpret what is being shown. Thus, due to the children not having the ability to understand the advertisements, there is no use of them.

Secondly, there is another reason as to why should advertisements directed towards children must not be allowed. As stated earlier, the children are very naïve and do not have much sense about what is right and wrong. What if they misinterpret the advertisements they see? For example, there is and advertise regarding a videogame and how the child in the advertise demands for it and his parents fulfil his wish. The children may get a wrong idea through this. They may start demanding stuff and may refuse to comply until their wishes are fulfilled. Hence, there should be no advertisements directed towards children.

To conclude, children have not yet developed a good sense of how things work. They are still young. They may not understand the advertisements and may also misinterpret them. Thus, advertisements directed towards children must not be allowed.