Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in the group of islands which included Tertia, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Dr. Karp says that his interviews with the children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia have proven Dr. Field’s conclusion about the Tertian village’s rearing culture to be invalid. This argument is rife with holes and assumptions which have led to Dr. Karp’s conclusion about Dr. Field’s observation.

Firstly, Dr. Field visited the island of Tertia twenty years ago. Based on his observation at that time he concluded that children in Tertia were reared by the entire village rather than their own biological parents. Dr. Karp says that this conclusion is invalid as he had recently taken interviews with the children of the group of islands which included Tertia. It may happen that over the time span of twenty years, the rearing traditions of the people of Tertia have changed. Now, it may be the case that the children are reared by their biological parents rather than the entire village. Thus, the author has not provided any evidence about do the people of Tertia still follow the same rearing tradition or not. Thus if these assumptions are considered then they weaken the author’s argument.

Furthermore, Dr. Karp conducted an interview which consisted of five islands of which one was Tertia. It may happen that the children of all the other islands spend their time with their biological parents and not with the other adults of the village and so Dr. Karp might have concluded that the children of these islands spend more time with their biological parents. Moreover, Dr. Karp has not provided any evidence as to how many children from Tertia were a part of the interview. It could be that maximum children in the interview were a part of other islands. Hence, these points must not be considered for coming to a conclusion about the children of Tertia and proving Dr. Field wrong.

Dr. Karp also says that his team of graduates is currently using the interview-centered method for knowing more about the rearing traditions of Tertia and other villages. He does not provide any information about the efficiency of his team or how well can they perform these interviews. Because Dr. Karp’s team consists of students and not experienced people. It can happen that their results from these interviews are not up to the mark and they can also be completely invalid.

Thus, if we consider all the above stated points then we can say that Dr. Karp has not considered several instances of doubts which could weaken his own conclusion. Therefore, if we need to be sure of the rearing traditions of Tertia then it would require to take into account all the above mentioned flaws in the argument. So, Dr. Karp’s argument has many flaws and assumptions and thus he cannot prove Dr. Field’s observational conclusions to be false.