"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The youth of a country determines if a country's future is in safe hands or not. It also determines if the country's future is bright or not. Today's leaders, in almost all the fields have a sense of maturity, boldness, positive attitude towards the work they do. These are the qualities that should be present in any upcoming leader as well. Apart from this, there must also be a sense of cooperation in the leader.

Today's young generation is fiercely competitive in all senses. Be it a mere discussion on a sports game or on a political policy. They like their point to kept forward and proved right. Young people having these qualities is good as long as it does not make them adamant to their point even though they are wrong.

The society we live in today consists of leaders who have build vast business empires, great governments, etc. To run these businesses and governments or industries in the right way in order to benefit the nation or the company, a right leader must be chosen. Tomorrow's leaders are today's youth. Most of them already posses the qualities of competitiveness. But, there is an extent to which they must be competitive. If sometimes, things are not going according to their plans then for the betterment of their businesses or even the well-doing of a country, they must take the right steps and cooperate if necessary.

It is very important for the young generation to have a sense of cooperation. What if a future leader cannot cooperate no matter what? What if the person is adamant to prove their point no matter what? And if this is a person who is the leader of a great organization or company then, this decision or quality of the person will definitely be harmful for the organization in the long run.

Thus, the leaders of today's companies, teachers in schools, or even an individual who has a sense of how the world works must help the young people to instill the qualities of cooperation. Competitiveness is good to a certain extent, but beyond that the person must know if his/her decision will affect the organization in a bad way. The quality of cooperation must be instilled in the youth from the very start so that it helps them become better leaders and take better decisions as leaders.