The value of works of art, whether they are literature, music, sculpture, or film, depends on how many people understand them.

The world we live in comprises of various forms of art, let it be literature, music or even film. Other than that our world also comprises of seven billion humans. Each of them have their own specific interests, characteristics, tastes regarding an abundance amount of topics. For example, let's consider music. An old person who has enjoyed music throughout his/her life might have a slight inclination towards a specific form of music. Let it be jazz, pop or even old school music. On the other hand, a young person may be interested in listening to rock or electric music. Thus, a song possessing certain qualities might be admired by some whereas at the same time it may not be enjoyed by the rest. This does not specifically mean that the song is not good. It only implies that a specific group of individuals who enjoy that form of music have endorsed it.

Speaking about all art forms in general, it can be said that not each individual has a liking towards all of them or even a few. Thus, the value of these fine works of art must not be measured by the overall sentiment of the public. A film or a song can be a hit if the desired audience for whom this was meant to be have loved it. The song 'Blinding Lights' by the famous artist, 'The Weekend' had created a buzz among the youngsters. At the same time, slightly older audience did not enjoy it as much. This in no way indicates that the people disliked it or were not able to understand it. This simply means that any work of art can be said to be understood if the desired audience towards whom it was intended has endorsed it.

Moreover, there are various other forms or art like paintings or sculptures which are admired by a huge number of people. But, only those who truly understand architecture or paintings are the ones who can judge these works of art. We as normal humans might find a sculpture to be very amusing on sighting it. But the pundits in that field may find it to be another ordinary piece of work.

Thus, on what basis can we say that a work of art is good or understood depends on what kind of art it is and also on the target audience. A mere person's statement regarding a piece of art who has no knowledge that form of art cannot be considered seriously. Only the reviews of the intended audience for whom a particular song was released or a film was made should be considered seriously. Also, a pundit's view on a certain work of art carries weightage when trying to understand if it is an excellent form of work or not.