Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Environmental issues are too complex to be handled by individual.

Today, the environmental problem is an earnest concern in all nations. When it comes to the personal involvement in helping relieving the environment problem, many people believe the individual can do nearly nothing and it is the authorities’ job to preserve the environment. As far as I concerned, everyone is the indispensable solider in fighting against the environment problems. The force and power of an individual is limited and minor, but united together, we will ultimately become an unstoppable power and exert powerful strength in helping improve the situation.

First and foremost, environmental problem is largely caused by everyone in the society. Granted, people living in the society is unaware of their actions will lead to the environment issues. After all, they may just throw several plastic bags or turn on the AC over day and night. However, just as the old saying goes: “in the avalanche, every snow flake is guilty”. It is these easy-to-ignore waste accumulated to tremendous depletion of natural resources, then finally contributes to the environmental disasters like green house effect and oceanic plastic waste. Thus, there is every reason to believe that we should raise the awareness of each individual to preserve the natural from every tiny thing around the daily life.

In effect, the personal neglect of environmental preservation in the community will make the government hard to from and implement policy. Usually, the environmental preservation policies released by the government are trying to reduce the depletion of natural resources by increasing the cost of using it. For example, China in 2007 released a policy requiring every shop charge fees for plastic bags to reduce the rampant waste. However, such a fee is nearly nothing, many people still choose to add a plastic bag during shopping for convenient and left several complains about the authorities after that. They don’t understand why the government require the extra fee, that is why that policy failed.

Besides, we don’t need any environmental preservation policy if everyone has the willing to preserve the environment. It is the fact that no matter the haves or the have nots, boys or girls, the young or the old, we all live in our only home, the earth. As the citizen of the beautiful earth, each of us share the common goal in preserving the natural of this planet. From the government’s perspective, environmental preservation may be a head-scratching problem. But if everyone of us raise strong awareness in participate in the activities to preserve the nature, the policy will be much easier to be implemented and the goal of living in a healthy planet will be quicker to achieve.

As a result, environmental issues are never too complex to any one of us. Just like everyone can easily undermine the nature by throwing a plastic bag on the street, individual is also capable to bow down and pick that plastic bag up. Bearing my the merits and negative possibilities elaborate above, I would argue against the notion that environmental issues are too complex to be handled by individual.