Teachers should be paid according to how well their students perform.

First and foremost, the program urges teachers to enhance their teaching efficiency. Normally, One’s salary is the major stimulus to improve the quality of his work. When students are unable to make progress or perform unsatisfactorily in their school work, such outcomes reflect negatively upon teachers. Such a psychological competition not only justifies their teaching ability, but also helps students learn. As long as such pressures function well and are finally turned into impetus, there is every reason to believe that greater efforts will be made. Without doubt, the major purpose of school education is to produce positive influences on students and instruct them to perform well in studies. Where there is a will, there is a way. The adoption of better teaching methods and the improved personal guidance of teachers contribute to the realization of this goal.

In addition, student will receive more attention from their teachers because of this motion. The traditional “teacher-centered” mode of teaching allows a teacher to rule the classroom roost by using a prescribed approach to teach a generic curriculum to everyone at the same time. The domination of teachers in class makes it difficult for them to affect effective two-way communication. In these types of classroom, students are passive spectators, which considerable undermines their confidence and learning passion. However, if a more “student-based” learning atmosphere is created due to the implementation of the proposal, students might be more active in their studies. Teachers are attaching greater importance to the individuality of each student, so as to instruct them more effectively. Hence, the gap between teachers and students is narrowed. As soon as effective communication is ensured, teaching and learning performance will be improved.

Admittedly, several defects of this proposal ought to be noted. On the one hand, some of the teachers may be unwilling to teach a class with more low-level students, which might lead to unnecessary troubles. On the other hand, some students may endure too much pressure from their teachers, which may threaten their health and incur a loss of self-confidence.

As a result, a number of factors ought to be taken into consideration before this innovative proposal be passed and implemented. Bearing in mind the merits and the negative possibilities elaborated above, I would render my support to the notion that teachers can be paid on the basis of their students’ performance.