Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The speaker undoubtedly states that to secure better jobs,Omega university should terminate student evaluation of professors.The reason stated is unsubstantial and not convincing.Until there is no proper detailed information and statistical data as to why the process has to be eliminated and until he provides evidence to all the questions this can't be a cogent argument.

Firstly,The speaker fails to state the reason behind the new procedure of evaluating teachers.How can a teacher evaluate a student?There is no proper data as to what kind of students were taken in this process for example if a failure student is taken then he negotiates with the teacher and this could effect the future of the child.There is no statistical data of the grades he mentioned like how much exactly were the students performing before and he states as rise in 30 percent among how many students was this percentage calculated?;.

Secondly,The potential employers refers to whom?What made them think that the grades are just boosted by teachers.He fails to give the proper data of rise in grades and is it overall the university or a particular students.The term he mentioned as student achievement refers to what?So does it mean that students evaluate the professors as good so that they could benefit good grades?.Such important data was failed to mention in the argument.

Thirdly,the graduates of omega college and alpha university is compared based on getting jobs and what percentage of students have attended in both colleges could help to analyse the argument more appropriately.What was the actual reason behind the jobs is it because alpha has higher standards? and how can he compare the jobs with the student evaluation process of professors.There is no sufficient data as how many really applied to jobs there might be a chance that they haven't applied as few wish to study further.However the detailed information of students in both colleges is not provided to analyse the argument.

In the conclusion,The speaker failed to mention most of the details such as total number of students and the statistical data of grades before the evaluation process and after the process.As such information are not given with sufficient data this argument can't be deemed to be persuasive.