Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The argument claims that governments must ensure that major cities receive financial support because they are the centre of the nation’s cultural traditions. I disagree with the claim because a nation’s cultural traditions are not centered around cities, they are centered around people that come from all walks of life. They are centered around people in towns and in villages.

A nation’s culture is not preserved and generated in cities but in towns and villages. Consider a diverse country like India, where more than 80 percent population lives in towns and villages. If you consider the local art form of warli painting, it is not found in major cities like Mumbai but small villages in Maharashtra, India. Let us consider food which is a crucial element of any nation’s cultural identity. If you go to cities, you will see restaurants popping up that serve global cuisines like continental, American and Italian. Where is the authentic local cuisine of the country? The local flavours of zunka bhakri and thecha (an example local cuisine of India) are found in every nook and corner of the villages. Villagers are the ones who have preserved the authenticity of the local flavours and are not marred by influences by foreign cultures.

When it comes to government ensuring financial support, it is a ${3f6d8f33-064c-e286-043a-911c2a6ef7ac} game. Any government has limited resources. If they spend their resources in ensuring that the cities are thriving, it will lead to villages being neglected. Cities have enough means to thrive on their own as they are the hub for major innovations and economic growth. It is important that the government focus their efforts and resources in ensuring the local culture is preserved and promoted through villages and towns.

If the government fails to do so, it is natural for the villagers to migrate to the cities in search of opportunities. For example, if an artist in a village is not able to make his/her ends meet because of lack of access to the market, she might migrate to the city to look for employment. The migration of villagers to cities is an old trend that is seen in various parts of the world. If the villagers move to cities, the nation will lose its cultural heritage. If the government wants to preserve its cultural heritage, it must only focus on the arts and the music but on the overall upliftment of the villages and towns.

One might argue that cities have their own culture, it is the place where new music, new art forms and new stories come to life. It is true that cities too are a place where culture thrives, but cities are sustainable ecosystems. Cities have more educated and more resourceful people than in villages. Cities’ culture will continue to thrive irrespective of government’s intervention.

If the government has to intervene and provide support to preserve the nation’s culture, it has to be done where it is needed the most - in the villages, and not in the cities.