These days, young people are less reliant on their parents’ advice to make important life decisions.

Some people argue that child’s must follow their parents’ advice in making important life decisions. They cite that parent have much more life experience as well as heavy knowledge regarding those experiences as well. However, in my opinion, I strongly disagree to these people and believe that there are many alternatives other than parents’ advice on making life choices. I will support my viewpoint with the following two reasons.

First of all, advance of technology has brought us accessibility to contact any other people from different places all over the world. Development of the Internet and communications using it, such as emails enable us to contact other people and ask advice for them. For example, if one wants to become an actor, one can ask specific questions related to acting to best performers in the world. In the past, asking questions to other people were difficult especially if you didn’t know the person privately. In other words, compared to suffering from limitations on finding advisors who can help you make life decisions in the past, one can conveniently easily ask for advice online these days.

Second of all, our evolving society changes precipitously which makes relying solely on our parents’ advice vulnerable. Modern society goes through very fast and broad changes in many aspects of lives. For example, there are new jobs and fields which are introduced where those have not existed in the past, especially during our parent’s generation. Our parent’s valued professional jobs, such as doctors or lawyers. Although this belief might be somewhat true in their children’s generations, but there are new propitious jobs like YouTube creators or personal trainers where such occupations are newly created. To make up with the quickly changing world, there is necessity to ask for advice to other generations’ experts as well.

To conclude, whether deciding how much the appropriate scale of relying on parents’ advice to make important decisions for the young is complex. Some suggest that young people should rely the most to their parents for important choices. However, I still contend that young people should rely less on their parents and ask for other people’s advice as well in making important life choices.