If someone wants to travel to different countries, do you think that it is better to travel abroad when he or she is young and has lots of energy, or do you think that it is better to travel abroad when he or she is older and more experienced?

Some people suggest that traveling abroad when you become old and experienced is better. They say that experience can help you tackle obstacles you encounter on a trip. However, in my opinion, I strongly believe that traveling abroad when you are young is more beneficial. I will illustrate my viewpoint by following two reasons.

First of all, variety of many different experiences are required for the young because they can smoothly learn from it. For example, younger people are more likely to accept other country’s culture easily. Some might argue that age does not have influence in absorbing new cultures or different lifestyles. However, it is somewhat true that elders are more fixated and have some kind of prejudice or stereotypes paradoxically, due to their longer life experiences and knowledge acquired by it. When my family visited other country, I could find out that my parents were inclined to having experiences which they already know, while my sibling and I tried to participate in new, exotic experiences like taking adventures to the harsh nature like deserts and rainforests. Thus, because adopting original and fresh experience to the young is easier and faster, I think it is better for young people to travel abroad.

Second of all, health conditions differ between the young and elders. In detail, generally the young have better physique compared to elders which helps them travel with less effort. When traveling abroad, we have to spend our energy on physical activities such as walking or sometimes climbing, hiking as well. For example, let’s suppose we are visiting Peru in South America. The most famous city, Cusco lies about in 4000m altitude, and its nearby Machu Pichu lies in high altitude as well. Because of its high altitude meaning that oxygen being scarce in the air, many people have difficulties in performing physical activities. In most cases, elder people suffer from these symptoms more than younger people. Consequently, these can disturb elders traveling around the nation compared to non-suffering younger people.

To conclude, whether traveling abroad when one is young or old can be a controvertible topic. Some think traveling when you are old is better because you are more affluent in both money and time. However, I still believe that traveling when you are young has more benefits compared to traveling when you are old because of the necessity of versatile experience and easiness on adopting those experience as well. Also, better health conditions lead to easier traveling without going through difficulties depending on your physical status.