It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Most people believe that understanding ideas and background of a knowledge is more important than the knowledge itself. They cite the importance of the chain of ideas which can develop into a fact. However, in my opinion, I mostly disagree with these people and claim that remembering facts is more crucial to the students. I will support my viewpoint with the following two reasons.

First of all, students are evaluated by tests which measures student's memorization of facts. In every semester, students are required to take couple of important exams which are presented in the name of mid-term or final exam. Tests are conducted in a limited amount of time and albeit there are subjects which measures the student's logical thinking capability like mathematics, there are more subjects which evaluates how well a student remembers factual information about the topic such as history, geography and biology. To get a better evaluation on their final grades, I think students need to memorize and focus on factual information.

Second of all, one can deduct ideas and concepts easily if they know the facts. For example, suppose a person knows the planet orders in the solar system. If he or she remembers that Mars is closer to the sun compared to Saturn, it is more likely that they can deduct that average temperatures will be higher on Mars. Although understanding the background concepts might be beneficial to deducting the fact as well, its chances are low that you can remember the exact numeric information. To clarify, I think it is easier to bring out ideas and concepts based on facts rather than the opposite.

To conclude, whether to value in between concepts and facts can be somewhat controversial depending to persons. Some suggested that understanding ideas and concepts is better because it helps students understands topics comprehensively. Nevertheless, I still believe that remembering facts is more beneficial to the students because it leads to a better performance in overall student's grades and facts can help bring out the knowledges' concepts and ideas.