Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research is being conducted in plethora of various fields nowadays. Many scientists or researchers working diligiently in their institutions look forward to government's subsidies and funds. The prompt suggests that the government should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear. I mostly agree with this recommendation in favor of following couple of reasons.

There might be some institutions whether academic or non-academic like corporations, longing for funds because they do not have enough money to initiate a research. Also, their proposal of research might not have been delineated, or prepared a congent, lucid description of its consequences. In such cases they have to find out, materialize the consequences of their research after they conducted the research and have some progress of it. However, this seems to be an inapporpriate, unjustified way to conduct a research and especially for receiving governmental funds, this should be distanced.

Indeed, for numerous, versatile kinds of research being conducted, there is modicum proof that the research will lead to a beneficial result. Sometimes the research could turn out to be malignant and harmful to human society. For example, recent development and study of AI(Artificial Intelligience) has brought many disputes regarding on its consequences and its effects toward mankind between most professional gurus. Some, who are amiable towards the technology believe that its progress will be beneficial and it will be a breakthrough for our society in many different fields, solving most inscrutable problems. On the other hand, however, there are people who worry about its desruptive prowess and concern the outcomes when such a technology is used against human. To obviate such harmful consequences being resulted by an obscure research, governments should be meticulous in choosing subjects to fund on.

Furthermore, governmental funds are limited to certain amount of bugets. This could be disparate for each nations, but it is mostly likely that there isn't a nation which can spend arms and legs only on scientific research. Government utilizes funds for many other kinds of subsidies and factors as well. Indeed, even if the government can spend stupendous amount of money on scientific research, there should be a priority list on where to divide it. For instance, because of deteriorating climate changes nowadays, there are exigency demanded by some research trying to overcome this. Renewal energy like solar, water energy is being focused. Rather on spending budgets on research where consequences are unclear, would not it be better to invest on these urgent, highly-demanded technology and research?

It would be ideal to fund every kinds or research being conducted. However, because of the obstacles abovementioned, I claim that governments should prioritize and fund translucent research which has obvious and clear consequences first, and then if there are any buget remaining, support scientific research whose consequences are unclear.