The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the given prediction, the council predicts that the proposed measure of preventing the development of existing farmland in the county would lead to increase in the prices of the housing. The council has come to the conclusion that pine county had adopted the strategy fifteen years ago and their housing prices were doubled. However, before this prediction could be evaluated three questions need to be answered.

First of all, is the county overdeveloped only because of the residential houses? In other words, will limiting the supply for new housing control the overdevelopment process? It is possible that there might be other factors which are contributing to overdevelopment of the county-maybe construction of multinational companies is leading to the depletion of the farmland available. Further, construction of schools, colleges might also be one contributing reason for the lessening of the farmlands. If anyone of these reasons stated are found out to be true then the prediction is weakened.

Secondly, the situation which took place in chestnut ten years ago, is applicable even today? Are chestnut and maple counties on the same comparison line? Chestnut might not have good housing properties and maple may have better planning of houses than the former one. It is possible that chestnut does not have many amenities and that is why people are not willing to buy houses in chestnut county. Further, people living in chestnut are not willing to sell their houses and that is why the prices have remained constant or unchanged. If the above holds true, then the prediction for maple does not hold good.

Finally, pine county is doubling their housing prices in the last fifteen years only because of the prevention of the development of existing farmland? In other words, the hike in prices is only because of the development strategy proposed? It might be possible that the prices have been increasing as the quality, the amenities, services provided by pine county have been better over the years. Further, development of good markets, groceries, shopping malls might have been developing around the housing in pine county which increased the prices of the residential area. If any of the reason is found out to be true, then the prediction weakens.

In conclusion, the predication as predicted by the council is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unstated assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and provide more evidence, then it would be possible to consider the prediction as a viable one where the housing prices would increase because of the prevention of development of existing farmland.