The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The environment is depleting day-by-day, and it of humungous importance to come up with some kind of approach for management. I disagree with the prompt that the best solution for eradicating environmental problems due to consumer-generated waste would be to impose strict limits on the amount of trash accepted by the authorities. Following are the two reasons and a concession supporting this thesis.

First of all, I sincerely believe that instead for directly imposing a stringent limit for accepting the amount of trash from each household will not help much in controlling the consumer-generated waste. Each household comprises of different members quantitatively, will have different amounts of household trash generated, and putting a severe limit would be unfair to some. Additionally, in today's sophisticated and diverse environment, where people belonging to different cultures reside at a given place, it is not in the favour of few to impose this limit, as some cultures rely on more in packaged food will in fact have more trash. Consequently, instead of putting a curb on amount of trash, a more realistic idea would be to force the people to separate out the wet and dry trash. If someone fails to do that, should have a hefty fine imposed. For instance, if a given city who mandates it's residents to separate the dry and wet trash, which would be easier for the authorities to process, will have less environmental problems than a city which retrains the quantity of trash accepted from each household where the residents resort to burning the excess amount. Therefore, cutting-off the limits over the trash would be helpful to both the authorities and the residents, and directly helpful to the environment as well.

Second of all, a much better way for a city to solve it's trash problems would be to encourage recycling. The separation of trash into dry and wet, makes it easier for the authorities to process the dry trash like cans, plastic, metal scrap etc. and recycle them. This will not only be salubrious to the environment, but will also give rise to an eco-friendly industry. The wet trash can also be utilised in farmlands as organic manure. So recycling will not only turn out to be eco-friendly for the authorities, but a profitable entity for those participating in this industry. For example, there have been numerous efforts made by the environmentalists to practice recycling, since we have started to recognise the environmental problems. There has been an abundant research conducted in this area, and a lot of Non-Government Organisations are also working towards this cause as well. Thus, a more viable option for solving the trash problems would be start recycling the waste rather than putting curbs on the quantity of the waste produced per household.

Finally, some may argue that putting a stringent restrictions over the households encourages the residents to be more vigilant towards the amount of trash produced per household. But, similar can be achieved through implementing penalties as well as encouraging the people to participate more in eco-friendly ways of waste management. Thus, the restrictions might seem valid in some peculiar scenarios but are not pragmatic.

In conclusion, it is indispensable for the authorities to come out with some kind of plan for waste management. Therefore, penalising and encouraging the process of recycling seems to be the better approach, rather than putting a stringent limit over the amount of trash produced per household.